How do I get someone evicted?
How do I get Temporary Custody of my kids?
Please, see an attorney
Deed & Property Information
Can I check for liens on a property?
By law, the Recorder of Deeds’ office does not provide title searches and they cannot confirm or deny if a property is “free and clear”. However, you may check the name index by visiting the Missouri Recorder of Deeds Portal.
Click on the “Sign in as a Guest” button in the top left corner. Select “McDonald County” from the home screen. Enter the “Last Name & First Name” of the person whom you think the lien may be listed under. Click “Search” to view the list of names on file. Yet, you must create an account in order to view/print the images. Mortgages or liens prior to 1997 will not be indexed; these can be researched, in person, in their office, in the old bard-back books. Judgments and/or some UCC filings may be found in the Circuit Court’s office. Please seek advice from a lawyer or title company for more information on liens.
Can I get a copy of a deed and what is available online?
Many records are available online through the Recorder of Deeds’ office. You can order copies at $1 per page + a subscription fee. If you call the Recorder’s office they charge the same price per page ($1) + a fax fee. They prefer you use their online system as they do not take payment over the phone. Use the Assessor’s office map here to find the book/page. You can search by address or name. Once you’ve located the property in question, you can right-click over the parcel card pop-up box to “open property data card” and find the book/page. Here is a list of documents available through the Recorder’s website:
- Land Records- Images available online for these books:
- Books 2011-2015+ (indexed 2011-Current)
- Books 166-208 (indexed 1978-2010)
- Marriage Records are ALL indexed- Images are NOT available online.
- Military Records are ALL indexed- Images are NOT available online.
- Mortgage Records- Images available online for these books:
- Books 2011-2015+ (indexed 2011-Current)
- Books 151-163 (indexed 1998 to 2010)
- Surveys are ALL indexed- Images are NOT available online through the website.
- Tax Liens are ALL indexed- Earliest record is 2001- Images are online.
Can I get a copy of a survey?
The Missouri Land Survey Program maintains a digitized, printable, copy of every survey on file in the Recorder of Deeds’ office. Searching by legal description is the only option since they are not indexed by name with the state; therefore you could use the Recorder’s website to find the “book/page” and then find the matching number in “root ref” column on the state’s website in order to know which survey you’d like to order. To search, select “McDonald County” and enter a “Section, Township, Range”. Or switch to the subdivision tab, at the top of the page, to search by “Subdivision”. Call or visit the Recorder’s office for more assistance
Can you tell me my boundary lines or has this property been surveyed?
According to the Recorder of Deeds’ office, the answer is not so simple. If you need to determine boundary lines it’s best to contact a Surveyor because interpreting the legal description terminology and finding land markers can be difficult even with a survey in hand. The Assessor’s office maintains a map of the county but this should NOT be used for legal purposes as there is no guarantee of accuracy. Often, surveys have not been filed into the public record therefore; we do not have a copy. However, you are welcome to check the name index by visiting the Missouri Recorder of Deeds Portal. Click on the “Sign in as a Guest” button in the top left corner. Select “McDonald County” from the home screen. Enter the “Last Name” only of the person whom you think the survey may be listed under. Select “Plats & Surveys” as the index type. Click “Search” to view the list of names on file. Or you can search by legal description of property (not address) by clicking on the property tab at the top of the page. From there, select “Plats & Surveys” as the index type and select a “Subdivision” or “Section, Township, Range”. Click “Search” to view the list of names on file by legal description. However, searching by property type covers a large area and it doesn’t mean it’s necessarily what you’re looking for or need.
Can you tell me the selling price of this property?
By law, the selling price of real estate is not required on recorded deeds in Missouri. On the other hand, if the property has been sold through foreclosure, the “trustee’s deed” will state the high bid on the property; otherwise, this information is not available through the Recorder of Deeds’ office.
Can you tell me when my house was built or any history of my property?
The records held in the Recorder of Deeds’ office do not pertain to any structure built on a property, but only to the land itself. As a general rule they do not have historic information about the homes and/or people who live here but the Recorder of Deeds, Kenny, grew up in the county and is very knowledgeable about the area. It’s possible he may be familiar with the land or family name. You’re welcome to call or come by his office and research the old hard-back record books. Also, the Assessor’s office may have an idea of when a property value increased, to get a general idea, but this information is not typically available. The parcel card does contain current dwelling and valuation information. To view the parcel card, visit our online map. Once you’ve located the property in question, you can right-click over the parcel card pop-up box to “open property data card” and view information.
Do you know what houses are being foreclosed or sold on the courthouse steps?
For information regarding foreclosures check the McDonald County Newspaper, then contact the trustee listed in the notice of information. Although, property sales are held on the courthouse steps we are not involved in the transaction and do not maintain a list of foreclosures.
Does this property have an easement?
According to the Recorder of Deeds’ office, searching for an easement can be complicated and best left to an expert; like a title company. If you’re searching for your own property easements, and you purchased the property with title insurance, your easement details will be specified on the title insurance paperwork. Furthermore, easements are not typically printed on the actual deed but instead this phrase “Subject to easements, restrictions, reservations, and covenants of record, if any”. You are welcome to search the Recorder’s website’s name index. Please note; easements prior to 1986 will not be indexed; these can be researched, in person, in their office, in the old hard-back books. Additionally, easements transfer with property so they could be listed under a different name than the one being searched; hence the difficulty in finding them. Visit the Missouri Recorder of Deeds Portal to view the name index. Once on the site, click on the “Sign in as a Guest” button in the top left corner. Select “McDonald County” from the home screen. Enter the “Last Name & First Name” of the person whom you think the easement may be listed under. Select “Easement Right-Way” as kind of document (or leave open to search all document types). Click “Search” to view the list of names on file. Yet, you must create an account in order to view/print the images. Please seek advice from a lawyer or title company for more information on easements.
How do I remove a deceased person’s name from my deed?
If you have questions about removing names or making changes to your deed please seek advice from a title company or lawyer about your specific situation. The Recorder of Deeds’ office cannot help you make changes to your deed or offer advice
How do I transfer property to someone else?
The Recorder of Deeds’ office recommends you seek advice from a lawyer or title company as they can assist you in transferring property and preparing a new document. Although, the Recorder’s website does layout the guidelines on “How to Record a Document” they don’t offer assistance or have blank documents available. They will record any document, pertaining to land, that has all necessary requirements according to the Missouri formatting standards.
My parents died and left a beneficiary deed, how do I get the taxes in my name?
If you are the named recipient on a recorded beneficiary deed, take a copy of the death certificate to the Assessor’s office, upon the benefactor’s death. They will transfer the property into your name as long as the beneficiary deed is already on file in the Recorder of Deeds’ office.
Who owns a certain property or address?
The Assessor’s office maintains our online map website that provides ownership information. You can search by address or name. Once you’ve located the property in question, you can right-click over the parcel card pop-up box to “open property data card” and view the full parcel card which gives book/page info, address and much more. If you have questions related to ownership, please contact the Assessor’s office. Please note, the Recorder of Deeds’ primary job is to maintain the public record and they do not assign or revoke ownership. Furthermore, they do not maintain a list of addresses or parcel numbers.
Will you help us with genealogy?
The Recorder of Deeds’ office would be glad to assist you in your search of family history. The Recorder, Kenny Underwood, is known for his genealogical expertise and would be happy for you to call or visit his office. Their earliest records begin in 1865 when citizens were urged to bring their documents in for re-recording due to a fire in the courthouse. They have all marriage licenses indexed and will gladly assist you in your search.
License and Certificate Information
How do you get a marriage license?
Both the bride and groom must come to the Recorder of Deeds’ office and bring $60 cash (in exact change), photo ID (driver’s license), and proof of SSN (social security card). The office hours are 8-4pm (open thru lunch). There is no waiting period so you will leave the office ready to be married. The license must be used within 30 days and inside the state of Missouri. We do not have a Justice of the Peace but call the office for a list of ministers, if needed. Also, LIKE their Facebook page. They’d love to add your picture to their wall of happy couples!
How do you get copies of death/birth certificates?
What’s the number to the Driver’s License (DMV) office in Pineville?
It is listed in the phonebook as Pineville License Office, 223-4029
Where can I get a liquor, auctioneer, or business (merchant) license?
Visit the Collector’s Office. The county fee for a Liquor License is equal to the value issued by the State of Missouri. Auctioneer’s License is valid for one year for a fee of $52. Merchant’s License is valid for one year for a fee of $25.
Tax and Assessment Information
Can I pay my taxes online?
Can I pay my taxes online?
How do I know how much taxes are owed on my property?
If I didn’t receive my bill statement, do I have to pay the late fees?
Yes, you are responsible for filling out and turning in an assessment sheet at the beginning of each year in the Assessor’s Office. If you fail to do this you will not receive a tax statement at the end of the year and you will be liable for penalties incurred for not turning an assessment sheet in on time.
What if I don’t own my car anymore do I still have to pay taxes on it?
Where do I pay my taxes?
At the Collector’s Office. All tax statements are due upon receipt and become delinquent after December 31st. Payments can be made in person, by mail or online.
How can I be added to the contractors bid list?
How do I know if my road is a County Road or Private Road?
My street needs a new stop sign?
Who do I contact if my road needs a new road name sign?
Contact 911 Non Emergency Mapping Department 417-223-4640